Healthy breakfast ideas…

I really struggle with breakfast as I don’t like eating first thing in the morning. The most I can manage on waking is a couple of soya cappuccinos. I see them as protein drinks without the added protein powder. If I’m going to the gym I’ll eat a banana.

I need my first meal at about 10 or 11am and by then I’m starving. I thought I’d post up some of my favourite breakfasts (in addition to my Kilner jar breakfast from a previous post). Two of these recipes I can knock up at work with the toaster and two are strictly for weekends. Here they are…

Homemade wholewheat pretzel with a soft poached egg

pretzelce

Pretzel ingredients: 1⅟2 cups of water, 1⅟4 Tsp dry yeast, 2Tbsp brown sugar, 1⅟4 Tbsp salt, 1 cup Wholewheat bread flour, 3 cups flour, sea salt

Recipe as follows. Sprinkle yeast on lukewarm water and dissolve, add sugar, salt and flour and knead until smooth and elastic. Let rise. Make into pretzel shapes, sprinkle with salt and bake for 15 minutes gas mark 7.

Marmite, cream cheese and fresh tomatoes on toast

marmitece

Oatbran pancakes with warmed strawberries

pancakesce

Recipe as follows. Mix 2 Tbsp oatbran, 1 egg and skimmed milk to make a pancake batter consistency. Spray a not stick pan with oil and split the mixture in half to fry two pancakes, flipping to cook on each side. Warm strawberries for 30 seconds to 1minute in the microwave and serve together. I sprinkled mine with sugar 🙂

Peanut butter and banana on toast

 bananace

Categories: Genius Ideas, Intelligent Food | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

